We've moved!

Social Icons

twitterfacebooklinkedinrss feed

Sunday, February 15, 2009

Mundt Debate Results: Aberdeen Central, Vermillion Win Sweeps

The 42nd Karl E. Mundt Debate Tournament brought 16 schools to Madison Friday and Saturday for a big weekend of speech competition. Aberdeen Central won the Class AA team trophy, earning 235 sweeps points over surging Huron's 203. In Class A, Vermillion emerged victorious from a 160–160 tie with Milbank, thanks to placing one more Tanager competitor in final rounds than the Bulldogs.

Sioux Falls Lincoln fielded five event winners, followed by Huron with three. We've recognized the Madville Mundtster award winner and fellow four-year Mundt competitors; now here's a list of the 2009 event winners:

  • Varsity Policy Debate: James Kerr & Matthew Aadland, Brookings
  • Novice Policy: Alan-Mark Ivanov & Alexia Schumacher, Sioux Falls Lincoln
  • Varsity Lincoln-Douglas Debate: Jesse Goodwin, Sioux Falls Washington
  • Novice Lincoln-Douglas: Christine Marotteck, Huron
  • Varsity Public Forum Debate: Alexzandra Neville & Olivia Hollan, Aberdeen Central
  • Novice Public Forum: Alissa McAloon & Nicole McAloon, Huron
  • Foreign Extemp: Jiwen Li, Vermillion
  • Domestic Extemp: Luke Cumbee, Huron
  • Novice Extemp: Gus Campbell, Aberdeen
  • Varsity Oratory: Maggie Lawler, Sioux Falls O'Gorman
  • Novice Oratory: Agnes Kabambi, Sioux Falls Lincoln
  • Humor: Pete Heidepriem, Sioux Falls Lincoln
  • Drama: Adrielle Munger, Sioux Falls Lincoln
  • Duo: Chris Wilkins & Ryan Wilkins, Sioux Falls Lincoln
Congratulations to all of our Mundt award winners, and thanks to all of our competitors, coaches, and judges for coming to Madison for another magnificent Mundt!

No comments:

Post a Comment

Comments are closed, as this portion of the Madville Times is in archive mode. You can join the discussion of current issues at MadvilleTimes.com.

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.